If you want to know how to upload video on Amazon Seller Central, the short answer is: go to Catalog → Upload and Manage Videos, pick the file, attach it to one or more ASINs, and wait for moderation. There is a second path — Catalog → Upload Images → Image Manager → Video tab — that manages the same library, and a third, separate path through A+ Content Manager that has its own queue and its own rules. Those navigation paths are stated by Amazon on its own Seller Forums (checked 2026-08-31). Almost everything else you will read about the specs is third-party, and the numbers do not agree with each other. This guide separates what Amazon states from what the ecosystem repeats, so you know which limits to trust when a file gets bounced.

If you are still deciding whether video is worth the production cost, that case is made separately in how to utilize Amazon product videos to boost your listings . This page assumes the decision is made and you are staring at an upload screen.

The two upload paths inside Seller Central

Amazon’s own forum posts describe one tool with two entry points:

Entry pointNavigationWhat it is for
Upload and Manage VideosCatalog → Upload and Manage VideosThe primary uploader: add a file, map it to ASINs, set a thumbnail, watch review status
Image Manager, Video tabCatalog → Upload Images → Image Manager → Video tabManages video content you already have in the account
A+ Content ManagerA+ Content Manager (Premium A+ modules)Video placed inside a branded content module, not in the main media carousel

The first two are documented in an Amazon-authored Seller Forums post, “How to upload detail page videos” (posted by Tatiana_Amazon; retrieved 2026-08-31). The same post lists what the tool can do: assign a single video to multiple relevant products, upload multiple videos to one listing, track the review status of a video, and either accept the auto-generated thumbnail or swap in an image of your choice.

Two practical consequences follow from that feature list, and they are the reason the first upload usually goes wrong:

One video, many ASINs is a supported flow, not a hack. If you sell a five-colour variation family, you do not need five renders. Upload once, attach the video to every child ASIN it honestly represents. “Honestly” is doing work in that sentence — see the rejection section below.

The video lives in a library, not on a listing. You are not attaching a file to a listing the way you attach an image to a message. You are adding an asset to your account’s video library and then creating ASIN mappings. Detaching it from one ASIN does not delete it, and re-uploading the same file twice creates two library entries that both need review.

The third path — A+ — is a different system entirely, covered further down.

Who can see the tool at all

The uploader does not appear for every seller — and the publishers do not agree on why. Goat Consulting and The Sparkhouse both treat detail page video as a Brand Registry feature, the latter stating flatly that “only brand-registered sellers can add videos directly to product detail pages.” ecomengine says the gate moved: “Previously, the ability to upload Amazon product videos was available only to vendors and sellers enrolled in the Amazon Brand Registry program. In June 2023, Amazon announced that you can now add videos to your listings if you’ve been selling on Amazon for at least three months.” All three read 2026-08-31; Amazon’s own help article on eligibility sits behind a login wall we could not read (see the note below), so we cannot settle the split against a primary source. If Catalog → Upload and Manage Videos is missing from your menu, assume an eligibility gate — Brand Registry, selling history, or both — rather than a bug.

What Amazon enforces on the file itself

Here is the honest state of the evidence on specs, as of 2026-08-31.

Amazon’s help article “Upload a video” (sellercentral.amazon.com/help/hub/reference/GWJRQF3C34G4PRA2) is the primary source, and we could not read it. Fetched without a login it returns a 302 to Amazon’s sign-in page, and the Wayback Machine holds no readable copy either: its only three captures of that URL (October 2022 and two from July 2023) are themselves 302s to the same login wall (checked 2026-08-31). So the wording below is a seller quoting that page verbatim in an Amazon Seller Forums thread (retrieved 2026-08-31), not a page we read ourselves:

Video file: We recommend uploading files in the highest available quality, up to 1080p but not exceeding 5 GB. Currently acceptable file formats are .mov and .mp4.

That quotation is old — the thread is roughly four years old — and it conflicts with what the current guide ecosystem publishes. The conflict is worth seeing side by side, because it determines whether you re-encode before uploading:

AttributeQuoted from the help page (via forum, older)Commonly published by third-party guides (2026)
Container.mov, .mp4.mp4 or .mov, H.264/H.265
Resolution ceilingUp to 1080p1280×720 minimum, 1920×1080 recommended
File size ceilingNot exceeding 5 GB500 MB
Aspect ratioNot stated in the quoted line16:9
Frame rateNot stated in the quoted line23.976 or 30 fps, constant not variable
AudioNot stated in the quoted lineAAC/PCM/MP3, 96 kbps or higher, 44.1 or 48 kHz
DurationNot stated in the quoted lineGuides disagree: 6–45 seconds, or 30 seconds–15 minutes

Sources for the right-hand column: the 500 MB ceiling comes from Emplicit and The Sparkhouse ; the codec, frame rate, and audio rows are corroborated by Goat Consulting , which is not a source for 500 MB: its placement table gives 5 GB for detail page video, applying 500 MB only to Storefront and ad slots. All read 2026-08-31.

The practical reading. A file that satisfies the strictest number in every row satisfies every version of the rule: 1080p, H.264 in an .mp4 container, 16:9, constant 30 fps, AAC audio at 48 kHz, under 500 MB, and under 45 seconds. That envelope costs nothing to hit — a 45-second 1080p H.264 export lands well under 500 MB at any sane bitrate — and it removes file specs as a variable when something gets rejected. We are not able to confirm the 500 MB figure against an official page, so do not treat “under 5 GB” as safe on the strength of a four-year-old quotation.

Thumbnails, ASIN mapping, and the fields people skip

Three things are set at upload time and are easier to get right on the first pass than to fix later.

The thumbnail. Amazon’s forum post confirms the tool auto-generates one and lets you replace it. Auto-generated thumbnails are a frame grab, which means they are frequently a motion-blurred mid-gesture frame or a black lead-in. Supply your own still — the same asset discipline that applies to your main image set, which our photography case study covers from the production side.

The ASIN mapping. You attach the video to specific ASINs. A video whose on-screen product does not visibly match the ASIN it is mapped to is one of the repeat rejection triggers. For variation families, map only to the children the footage actually shows unless the footage is deliberately generic.

The title and metadata fields. These are shopper-visible in some placements. Write them like a listing element, not a file name: no final_v3_REALFINAL.mp4, no keyword stuffing, no claim you would not put in a bullet point.

How long review takes, and what the status actually tells you

Every detail page video is moderated before it appears. Amazon’s own post confirms the tool exists to “track the review status of a video” — that is the official part. The duration of that review is not something we could source from an Amazon page: third-party guides converge on 24 to 72 hours, and that figure is worth planning around, not quoting as policy.

What matters operationally is that review status is not binary during the wait. A file can sit in a processing state (Amazon transcodes it) before it enters moderation at all, so a video that has not moved in two hours is normal, not stuck. Plan a launch that depends on video with at least three business days of slack, and upload before you need it live rather than the morning of.

Why Amazon product video uploads get rejected

Rejections cluster into two groups: the file failed a technical check, or the content failed a policy check. The technical group is the easy one — re-encode into the envelope above and re-upload. The content group is where sellers lose weeks, because the rejection notice is generic and the actual offending frame is not named.

The reasons publishers report most consistently, cross-read on 2026-08-31. The spine of the list is Goat Consulting , whose “Common Reasons Amazon Videos Get Rejected” section covers nearly every row below; ecomengine corroborates the pricing, time-sensitive, and on-screen-review rows, and The Sparkhouse the contact-detail, external-URL, and off-Amazon rows:

Rejection triggerWhy it failsThe fix
Price or promotional claims on screenPrices change; Amazon will not moderate a permanent asset that makes a temporary claimCut every price, discount, “sale” badge, and countdown
Time-sensitive languageSame reason — “new for 2026”, “limited time”Rewrite to timeless copy
Mentions of other retailers or marketplacesOff-Amazon directionRemove logos, URLs, and spoken references
Customer reviews shown on screenReview content is Amazon’s surface, not yours to reproduceReplace with product demonstration
Contact details or external URLsOff-Amazon directionRemove from footage, end card, and thumbnail
Fake interface elementsButtons or cursors that look clickable mislead shoppersRemove simulated UI
Content that does not match the mapped ASINThe mapping, not the video, is wrongRe-map, or shoot per-variant footage
Technical spec mismatchCodec, frame rate, or container outside the accepted setRe-encode to H.264 .mp4, constant 30 fps

The diagnostic order that saves the most time: re-check the mapping first (it is free to fix), then scan the last three seconds of the video (end cards are where prices, URLs, and social handles hide), then re-encode. Most sellers do this in reverse and burn two review cycles on a file that was never the problem.

One structural point: rejection is per-asset, not per-account, and re-uploading a corrected file starts a fresh review clock. There is no queue-jumping, so batching corrections is more efficient than trickling them in one at a time.

A+ Content video is a different queue with different rules

Video inside A+ Content is not the same product as a detail page video. Amazon’s news post “Premium A+ Content module specifications guide now available for brands” (posted by News_Amazon, retrieved 2026-08-31) states that Premium A+ Content is what gives you “video, interactive hotspot modules, image carousels, and enhanced comparative tables” — that is, video modules are a Premium A+ feature, not a basic A+ one.

The differences that change your workflow:

  • It is submitted and moderated as part of an A+ content submission, not through the video library. Rejecting one module rejects the submission.
  • Module dimensions are fixed per module type, so the same master file often needs a second export at a different crop.
  • Premium A+ has its own eligibility criteria on top of Brand Registry, and Amazon’s announcement points to the A+ Content help section for them rather than stating them inline.

If A+ is new to you, start with the complete guide to Amazon A+ Content and the background on Enhanced Brand Content before you plan video modules — the module system constrains the shoot, so it is cheaper to learn it before production than after.

The AI disclosure step that now sits inside this workflow

If any part of the footage contains a photorealistic person generated by AI, there is a metadata step before upload. Amazon’s disclosure requirement covers A+ content including videos, and the practical problem is that the tag has to survive your export pipeline — most editors strip it. We treat that as its own tool-stack problem in Amazon’s AI image disclosure rule , which is worth reading before you export rather than after a rejection.

This is a genuine trap for video specifically: an image pipeline has one export step, a video pipeline has several, and each transcode is an opportunity to lose container-level metadata.

A pre-upload checklist

Run this before the file leaves your editor. It is ordered by how expensive the mistake is to fix later.

  1. Content pass — no prices, no dates, no other retailers, no reviews, no URLs, no contact details, no simulated buttons. Check the end card twice.
  2. Match pass — does the on-screen product visibly match every ASIN you plan to map it to?
  3. Encode pass — H.264 .mp4, 1920×1080, 16:9, constant 30 fps, AAC 48 kHz, under 500 MB, under 45 seconds.
  4. Metadata pass — AI disclosure tag written if applicable; title written as a listing element.
  5. Thumbnail pass — a chosen still, not a frame grab.
  6. Timing pass — uploaded at least three business days before you need it live.

For where video sits relative to the rest of the listing work — copy, images, backend terms — see the listing optimization workflow hub and the tools that support each stage .

A note on sourcing reference footage: if your process includes studying what competitors currently run on their detail pages, ASINCrate is a Chrome extension that captures Amazon product page videos and images; its free account tier includes three video downloads per month and its Pro tier is $9.99 per month (asincrate.com/pricing, checked 2026-08-31). It is a research input, not an upload tool — nothing in it touches Seller Central.

FAQ

Do I need Brand Registry to upload a video on Amazon Seller Central?

The publishers split on this. Goat Consulting and The Sparkhouse both say detail page video is limited to brand-registered sellers; ecomengine says Amazon opened it in June 2023 to any seller with at least three months of selling history. A+ video modules require brand ownership either way. We could not read Amazon’s own help page to settle it, so verify against your own account: if Catalog → Upload and Manage Videos is absent, you are not eligible through that path today.

What file format does Amazon accept for product videos?

.mp4 and .mov are the formats named in the help page text quoted on Amazon’s forum. .mp4 with H.264 is the safer of the two because it is what every downstream transcoder expects.

How long can an Amazon product video be?

The published figures disagree — some guides say 6–45 seconds, others say up to 15 minutes. Amazon’s quoted spec line does not state a duration at all. Staying under 45 seconds satisfies every version, and shopper attention on a detail page argues for the same answer.

Can one video be used on several listings?

Yes. Amazon’s forum post explicitly lists “assign a single video to multiple relevant products” as a feature of the uploader. The constraint is content match, not the tool.

My video was rejected and the reason was vague. What now?

Work the diagnostic order: mapping first, end card second, encode third. Do not re-upload the identical file hoping for a different moderator — that spends a review cycle and changes nothing.